GT
Guided trips menu
La Fugue
Home page Guided trips Individual trips Business trips calendars Contact Legal notice
Fr Eng
GT
Back to the previous trip
Rome
150th anniversary of the death of Berlioz
From 8 to 11 November 2019
Limited number of participants
In the company of Bruno Messina
Registration form

150th anniversary of the death of Berlioz

In the company of Bruno Messina

 

An irrepressible and revolutionary genius, Hector Berlioz truly bloomed in 1830 when he won the prestigious Prix de Rome. Despite his feeling of being exiled, the year spent in Italy (when he was just 27 years old) was an enduring source of inspiration – as shown in Harold en Italie, Roméo et Juliette and Benvenuto Cellini.

In the company of Bruno Messina, we offer you a delightful Italian journey in the master’s footsteps. The marvels of the Sistine Chapel, the Palazzo Farnese and the Villa Medici will be revealed in his eyes, in a new light… In the country of Verdi, Rossini and Puccini, isn’t it wonderful to also celebrate one of the greatest French composers? And to find, in the love of art, the most beautiful principle of Franco-Italian fraternity?

 

 

Director of the Berlioz Festival, Bruno Messina is a great specialist on the composer to whom he has devoted a biography published by Actes Sud. A former lecturer in ethnomusicology at the Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de danse de Paris and lecturer in art, civilisation and music history at the CNSMD of Lyon, he is the ideal companion to make the most of this Roman trip.

Your program

 

Key attractions of the eternal city

 

A few iconic locations in Rome will hold our attention – we will strive to rediscover them from Berlioz’s perspective.

After lunch on the Piazza del Campidoglio, where we will listen to Bruno Messina with a spectacular panoramic view of the eternal city, we will first visit the sublime St. Peter’s Basilica. That is where Berlioz had his most intense artistic experience in Rome, described emphatically in his memoirs: “It’s so tall! So noble! So beautiful! So majestically calm!” That is where he liked to spend his days during the hot summers, enjoying the cool interior and religious silence.

At the Vatican, we will receive an exclusive tour of the Sistine Chapel, the marvel of marvels painted by Michelangelo, where a musical surprise awaits us.

In addition to discovering the famous Piazza Navona, together with the nearby Church of St. Louis of the French, which Berlioz mentions in his memoirs, we will also step inside the Villa Torlonia for a guided tour. Built in the early 19th century, it houses three exquisite museums today.

 

The “French” palaces of Rome

 

Two superb palaces in Rome symbolise the Franco-Italian friendship.

The Palazzo Farnese, first and foremost – a marvel of the High Renaissance and luxurious setting of the French Embassy – where we will enjoy a guided tour followed by a concert. We will dine in the Carracci dining room, famous for its monumental frescoes by brothers Annibale and Agostino Carracci, who decorated it between 1597 and 1608.

The Villa Medici houses the very famous French academy in Rome where Berlioz was one of the most prestigious residents. But the composer can describe the space he inhabited after his Prix de Rome in his own words: “The Villa Medici,  in which the students and director of the French Academy live, was built in 1557 by Annibale Lippi; Michelangelo later added a wing and some ornaments; it stands on the side of the Monte Pincio that overlooks the city, from where we you can enjoy one of the finest views in the world.” A great connoisseur of the master, Bruno Messina will share with us his erudite knowledge and emotion at celebrating Berlioz in such a place. We will then have lunch in the company of the young artists currently residing in the villa.

 

The surroundings of Rome

 

On our way to Tivoli, we will stop to discover the superb Roman tomb of Cecilia Metella, where Berlioz states in his memoirs, with amusement: “it is customary to awaken the echo until you are hoarse, so as to have an excuse for moistening your throat with a coarse black wine, thick with midges, in a neighbouring tavern.”

In Tivoli, our focus will turn to the Villa d’Este. Its spectacular gardens make it one of the great masterpieces of the genre, copied multiple times in Europe since the 16th century, and fully justifies its inclusion on the UNESCO World Heritage list.

Not far, Saint Benedict’s Monastery in Subiaco was built on the very spot where the hermit lived as a recluse in a 6th century cave. Concert by “Pifferari” – those street musicians whose “mystical savagery” Berlioz appreciated in Rome.

Our final tour will be devoted to the small Hermitage of San Germano, built in the heart of the mountain during the first decades of the 15th century.

 

Price per person

Double room package: 3 990 €

Supplement for single room: 230 €

 

The price of this trip includes: the Paris / Rome return trip in economy class • double room accommodation with breakfast for 3 nights • tourist tax • the tours and transfers mentioned in the program • all meals (beverages included) • le concert tickets • repatriation assistance.

 

The price of this trip does not include: extras.

A guide will accompany you on this trip.

And also...
150th anniversary of the death of Berlioz
From 8 to 11 November 2019

Travel manager

 

Carolina Calamai

+ 33 1 43 59 79 84

Contact by email
View the full details of this trip on your computer

Travel manager

 

Carolina Calamai

+ 33 1 43 59 79 84

Contact by email
Itinerary

Discover the map of this trip

Registration

Open

VA
Voyages Accompagnés menu
La Fugue
Accueil Voyages Accompagnés Voyages Individuels Voyages Sociétés Calendriers Contact Mentions Légales
Fr Eng
VA
Retour au voyage précédent
Rome
150e anniversaire de la mort de Berlioz
Du 8 au 11 novembre 2019
Nombre limité de participants
avec Bruno Messina
Bulletin d'inscription

150e anniversaire de la mort de Berlioz

avec Bruno Messina

Génie bouillonnant et révolutionnaire, Hector Berlioz va véritablement éclore en 1830, en remportant le prestigieux prix de Rome. Malgré son sentiment d’être exilé, l’année passée en Italie, alors qu’il n’a que 27 ans, sera durablement source d’inspiration – comme en témoigneront bientôt Harold en Italie, Roméo et Juliette ou Benvenuto Cellini.

En compagnie de Bruno Messina, c’est un délicieux périple italien sur les pas du maître que nous vous proposons. Ces merveilles que sont la chapelle Sixtine, le palais Farnèse ou la villa Médicis nous apparaîtront, dans son regard, sous un jour nouveau… Au pays de Verdi, Rossini, Puccini, n’est-il pas bon de célébrer aussi l’un des plus grands compositeurs français ? Et de trouver dans l’amour de l’art le plus beau principe de fraternité franco-italienne ?

 

 

Directeur du festival Berlioz, Bruno Messina est un grand spécialiste du compositeur auquel il a consacré une biographie chez Actes sud. Ancien professeur d’ethnomusicologie au Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de danse de Paris et professeur d’art, civilisation et histoire de la musique au cnsmd de Lyon, c’est un compagnon idéal pour vivre ce périple romain.

Votre programme

 

Les hauts-lieux de la ville éternelle

 

Quelques lieux emblématiques de Rome retiendront notre attention – nous nous efforcerons de les redécouvrir avec les yeux de Berlioz.

Après un déjeuner Piazza del Campidoglio, où nous profiterons d’une conférence de Bruno Messina devant le sublime panorama sur la ville éternelle, c’est d’abord la sublime Basilique Saint Pierre que nous rejoindrons. Berlioz y éprouva son plus grand frisson artistique Romain, qu’il décrit avec emphase dans ses mémoires : « C’est si grand ! si noble ! si beau ! si majestueusement calme !!! ». C’est là qu’il aimait à passer ses journées pendant les chaleurs de l’été, jouissant de la fraicheur et du silence religieux.

Au Vatican, visite exclusive de la Chapelle Sixtine, la merveille des merveilles peinte par Michel-Ange où nous attend une surprise musicale.

Outre la découverte de la fameuse Place Navone, ainsi que la proche église Saint-Louis des Français, que Berlioz évoque dans ses mémoires, nous pousserons les portes de la Villa Torlonia pour une visite guidée. Construite au début du 19e siècle, elle abrite aujourd’hui trois ravissants musées.

 

Les palais « français » de Rome

 

Deux superbes palais sont à Rome le symbole de l’amitié franco-italienne.

Le palais Farnèse d’abord, merveille de la haute renaissance, somptueux écrin de l’ambassade de France, où nous attend une visite guidée suivie d’un concert. Nous dinerons dans la salle à manger des Carracci, célèbre pour ses monumentales fresques des frères Annibal et Augustin Carrache, qui l’ont décorée entre 1597 et 1608.

La Villa Médicis abrite quant à elle la très fameuse académie de France à Rome dont Berlioz fut l’un des plus prestigieux résidents. Mais laissons le compositeur décrire les lieux qu’il occupa après son prix de Rome : « La villa Medici, qu’habitent les pensionnaires et le directeur de 1’Académie de France, fut bâtie en 1557 par Annibal Lippi ; Michel-Ange ensuite y ajouta une aile et quelques embellissements ; elle est située sur cette portion du Monte Pincio qui domine la ville, et de laquelle on jouit d’une des plus belles vues qu’il y ait au monde ». Bruno Messina, en grand connaisseur du maître, nous fera partager son érudition et son émotion de célébrer Berlioz en un tel lieu. Nous déjeunerons ensuite en compagnie des jeunes artistes actuellement pensionnaires de la villa.

 

Les alentours de Rome

 

En route vers Tivoli, nous ferons une halte pour découvrir le superbe tombeau romain de Cecilia Metella où Berlioz assure amusé dans ses mémoires « qu’il est de rigueur d’interroger longuement le curieux écho, pour s’enrouer et avoir le prétexte d’aller se rafraîchir dans une osteria qu’on trouve à quelques pas de là, avec un gros vin noir rempli de moucherons ».

A Tivoli, c’est la Villa d’Este qui retiendra notre attention. La splendeur de ses jardins en fait l’un des grands chefs-d’œuvre du genre, maintes fois copié en Europe depuis le 16e siècle, et justifie pleinement son inscription au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.

Non loin, le couvent de Saint Benoît à Subiaco fut érigé à l’endroit où le l’ermite se retira dans une grotte au 6e siècle. Concert de « Pifferari », ces musiciens ambulants dont Berlioz apprécia à Rome la « sauvagerie mystique ».

Notre dernière visite sera consacrée au petit Hermitage de San Germano, construit au cœur de la montagne pendant les premières décennies du XVe siècle.

 

Prix par personne

Forfait en chambre double : 3 990 €

Supplément chambre individuelle : 230 €

 

Le prix de ce voyage comprend : le vol aller-retour Paris / Rome en classe économique • l’hébergement en chambre double avec petit déjeuner pour 3 nuits • la taxe de séjour • les visites et transferts mentionnés au programme • tous les repas (boissons comprises) • le concert privé • l’assistance rapatriement.

 

Séjour accompagné sur place.

Le prix de ce voyage ne comprend pas : les extras.

Et aussi...
150e anniversaire de la mort de Berlioz
Du 8 au 11 novembre 2019
Responsable de ce voyage

Carolina Calamai

+ 33 1 43 59 79 84

Contacter par courriel
Retrouvez tous les détails de ce voyage sur votre ordinateur
Responsable de ce voyage

Carolina Calamai

+ 33 1 43 59 79 84

Contacter par courriel
Itinéraire

Découvrir la carte de ce voyage

Inscriptions

Ouvertes