GT
Guided trips menu
La Fugue
Home page Guided trips Individual trips Business trips calendars Contact Legal notice
Fr Eng
GT
Back to the previous trip
Soulages
Celebrating the Master's 100th anniversary
From 17 to 20 octobre 2019
Limited number of participants
"Pilgrimage” between
Rodez-Conques
and Montpellier
Registration form

Celebrating the Master's 100th anniversary

"Pilgrimage” between
Rodez-Conques
and Montpellier

“No one has ever done that… How bold! Many have done monochromes, but this is completely different. It’s not a monochrome – it’s reflected light.” That is how Colette, his lifelong companion, described the Master’s major discovery: Outrenoir (Beyond Black).
Black, his black…
Smooth black, striated black, the black of octagonal rhythms, diagonals, juxtapositions of serial forms or vibrations on the canvas.
Not absolute black, not black as a colour or non-colour, but Light. The obsessive work of a lifetime. The work of matte textures, opacity, roughness, and more.
It’s about thickening, tracing, scraping, saturating, smoothing… The hard work of movement, of matter, of rhythm and of space.
Designed as a real artistic journey, invigorated and invigorating, the Soulages “pilgrimage” between Rodez-Conques and Montpellier is a tremendous, infinite pictorial anthem. An anthem to creation, to light, and to Life.

This exceptional journey celebrating the Master’s 100th anniversary will also offer new explorations, like several forays into the Contemporary Art landscape: Anselm Kiefer in Barjac and the new LUMA Foundation in Arles.

Your program

Benoît Ducron

Benoît Ducron, chief heritage officer, modern and contemporary Art.

Director of Soulages Museum, Rodez EPCC (Region of Occitanie, Department of Aveyron, Rodez agglomeration and Minister of Culture), Benoît Decron has written books and catalogues about Pierre Soulages, Gaston Chaissac, l’Art Brut, Peter Saul, François Rouan, Moolinex, Gilles Barbier, Picasso, Alexander Calder, Victor Brauner …

 

Conques – the forgotten treasure of the Valley of Dourdou…

If there are “places where the spirit breathes”… If there are “places that free the soul from its lethargy, places shrouded in mystery, chosen to be the seat of religious emotion for all eternity,” the Abbey of Sainte-Foy in Conques is certainly one of them. That was the emotion felt by the young Soulages during a secondary-school outing. The painter’s vocation had sprouted. A real aesthetic epiphany, which delved in Roman art to turn his paintings into an eternal quest for rigour and asceticism, though bathed in light to escape severity. Nearly 60 years later, his now sacred art has made its way into the Abbey as an agnostic’s ultimate profession of faith.
Lulled by the rhythm of the stained-glass windows, the interplay of saddle bars, with rising curves recalling the ancient music dear to the Master’s tastes, and which will certainly lend a quasi-celestial quality to our private recital, the highlight of our guided tour.

Rodez – the Lady of Saint-Sernin and the Master of the Outrenoir…

Of the Master’s hometown, where he lived between 1919 and 1938 – a stone’s throw from the pink sandstone cathedral, at 4 rue Combarel in the artisanal neighbourhood – he remembered the craftsmen’s masterful techniques, disciplined work, and skill at handling tools and materials.
A tour of his museum will confirm this: walnut stains are presented alongside prints (etchings and lithographs), together with the preliminary sketches for the Conques stained-glass windows. All in an extraordinary architectural setting showcasing dark steel and sleek cubes in an interplay of shadow and light overlooking Aubrac.

 

The Millau Viaduct – “the structure that broke all records…”

Halfway there, we will stop to admire the Millau Viaduct, the structure that broke all records. It is a real bridge between two worlds: contemporary art and the peace and quiet of Grands Causses. We will enjoy a light and simple dinner in the most recent addition to the Bras restaurants, Capucin, boasting an unobstructed view of the Viaduct.

 

Montpellier – Antigone and Polyptychs…

The setting of his meeting with Colette, his lifelong companion, the Musée Fabre in Montpellier is more than a scenic space where the Master was exhibited in 1977. At Fabre, the couple admired a painting by Courbet, the cloak of Saint Catherine by Veronese, Descent from the Cross by Campana, dissertations on Valéry and Mallarmé… After these visits, they never left each other’s side. Fabre will offer us an aesthetic experience with a monumental quality: the Polyptychs… In the company of the curator, we will see “light coming from the canvas. The space of the canvas will be before us, and we will be inside the space of the canvas. As such, we will become a part of the painting”.

 

Arles – ancient city, cosmopolitan capital of art…

In the afternoon, we will discover the new Maja Hoffmann LUMA Foundation, inaugurated in 2018. The Foundation is located within the “Rocher Lunaire” (“moon rock” building) created by Franck Gehry, which dominates this 10-hectare space with its 56 metre-high, irregular titanium tower. We will have the opportunity to enjoy a private tour of this experimental centre of contemporary art, where artists, researchers and designers work together to create multidisciplinary projects (photographs, publications, documentaries and multimedia films).

 

Barjac – the extravagance of Kiefer…

Designed in the spirit of Nineveh, ancient lost city of Mesopotamia, Anselm Kiefer’s art studio was established in Barjac in 1993 in a derelict silk factory. Surrounded by scrublands, the area showcases teetering, stacked concrete towers, underground galleries, amphitheatres, libraries and forgotten chambers for his works. Kiefer taps into the era of artistic ruins and roots it in the Present, as we will discover during our exploration. A variety of offerings in a disjointed time frame.

Price per person

Basic double room package: €2,980

Supplement for single room: €420

Supplement for Deluxe double use room: €150

 

The price for this trip includes: the regular Paris/Rodez flight in economy class and the Nîmes/Paris TGV in first class (deductible from the package) • accommodation with breakfast for 3 nights • tourist tax • the tours and transfers mentioned in the programme • all meals (beverages included) •  La Fugue surprises • repatriation assistance.

 

The price for this trip does not include: extras.

 

A guide will accompany you on this trip.

And also...
Celebrating the Master's 100th anniversary
From 17 to 20 octobre 2019
Travel Manager

Elisabeth Belloc

+33 1 43 59 20 32

Contact by email
View the full details of this trip on your computer
Travel Manager

Elisabeth Belloc

+33 1 43 59 20 32

Contact by email
Itinerary

Discover the map of this trip

Registration

Open

VA
Voyages Accompagnés menu
La Fugue
Accueil Voyages Accompagnés Voyages Individuels Voyages Sociétés Calendriers Contact Mentions Légales
Fr Eng
VA
Retour au voyage précédent
Soulages
A l'occasion des 100 ans du Maître
Du 18 au 20 octobre 2019
Nombre limité de participants
"Pélerinage" entre
Rodez – Conques
et Montpellier
Bulletin d'inscription

A l'occasion des 100 ans du Maître

"Pélerinage" entre
Rodez – Conques
et Montpellier

« Mais jamais personne n’a fait cela… Quelle audace ! Il y en a beaucoup qui ont fait des monochromes, mais ça n’a rien à voir. Ce n’est pas un monochrome, c’est de la lumière réfléchie ». C’est en ces termes que Colette, la compagne de toujours, dédicacera la découverte majeure du Maitre : l’Outrenoir.
Le noir, son noir…
Noir lisse, noir strié, noir des rythmes octogonaux, des obliques, des juxtapositions de formes sérielles ou des vibrations sur la toile.
Non pas le noir absolu, non pas le noir comme couleur ou non-couleur mais Lumière. Le travail obsessionnel d’une vie. Le travail de la matité, de l’opacité, de la rugosité…
Il faut empâter, tracer, racler, saturer, lisser… Le travail acharné du geste, de la matière, du rythme et de l’espace.
Conçu comme une véritable pérégrination artistique vivifiée et vivifiante, le « pèlerinage » Soulages entre Rodez – Conques et Montpellier est un formidable hymne pictural au tempo infini. Hymne à la création, hymne à la lumière, hymne à la Vie.

Ce périple exceptionnel à l’occasion des 100 ans du Maître, proposera également de nouvelles incursions, comme autant de détours sur la carte de l’Art Contemporain. Anselm Kiefer à Barjac et la nouvelle Fondation LUMA en Arles.

Votre programme

Conques – le trésor oublié de la vallée du Dourdou…

S’« il est des lieux où souffle l’esprit »… S’ « il est des lieux qui tirent l’âme de sa léthargie, des lieux enveloppés de mystère, élus de toute éternité pour être le siège de l’émotion religieuse », alors l’abbatiale Sainte-Foy de Conques est certainement de ceux-là. Telle fut l’émotion ressentie par le jeune Soulages, lycéen en visite scolaire. La vocation de peintre avait éclose. Véritable épiphanie esthétique, qui puisant dans l’art roman, ferait de sa peinture une quête éternelle de rigueur, d’ascèse jamais austère car baignée de lumière. Près de 60 années plus tard, en entrant dans l’abbatiale son art devenait sacré, comme l’ultime profession de foi esthétique d’un agnostique.
C’est bercé du rythme des vitraux, du jeu des barres lotières, aux courbes ascensionnelles que résonnera la musique ancienne chère aux goûts du Maitre et qui confèrera à n’en point douter une dimension quasi céleste à notre récital privé, point d’orgue de notre visite commentée.

 

Rodez – la Dame de Saint-Sernin et le maitre de l’Outrenoir…

De la ville natale du Maitre où il vécut entre 1919 et 1938, à deux pas de la cathédrale de grès rose, 4 rue Combarel, de ce quartier d’artisans il gardera en mémoire la maitrise des gestes, la rigueur du travail, l’exigence des outils et des matières.
Nous en aurons la confirmation en visitant son musée où se côtoient les brous de noix, les estampes (eaux fortes et lithographies) ou les travaux préparatoires des vitraux de Conques. Le tout dans un écrin architectural hors du commun composé d’acier sombre, de parallélépipèdes épurés dans un jeu d’ombre et lumière ouvert sur l’Aubrac.

 

 

Le Viaduc de Millau – « l’ouvrage de tous les records… »

A mi-parcours, nous nous arrêterons pour admirer le Viaduc de Millau, « l’ouvrage de tous les records », véritable trait d’union entre deux univers l’art contemporain et la quiétude des Grands Causses. Un diner léger et simple dans le dernier né des « établissements Bras », le Capucin avec vue imprenable sur le Viaduc nous sera servi.

 

 

Montpellier – Antigone et Polyptiques…

Théâtre de la rencontre avec Colette, la compagne de toujours, le musée Fabre de Montpellier est plus qu’un espace scénographique où le Maitre fit d’ailleurs son entrée en 1977. A Fabre, le couple admire un tableau de Courbet, le Manteau de la Sainte Catherine de Véronèse, la Descente de Croix de Campana, disserte sur Valéry ou Mallarmé…De ces visites ils ne se sont plus quittés… Fabre sera pour nous le temps de l’expérience esthétique de la monumentalité : les Polyptyques … En compagnie du conservateur nous y verrons de la « lumière provenant de la toile. L’espace de la toile sera devant nous et nous serons dans l’espace de la toile. Nous ferons dès lors partie de la peinture ».

 

 

Arles – cité antique, capitale d’art cosmopolite…

Nous découvrirons la nouvelle Fondation LUMA Maja Hoffmann, inaugurée en 2018. C’est dans « le Rocher Lunaire » créé par Franck Gehry et qui domine cet espace de 10 hectares par sa tour de 56 mètres de titane aux facettes irrégulières que la Fondation a élu domicile. Une visite privée de ce centre d’Art contemporain expérimental où artistes, chercheurs et créateurs collaborent pour créer des projets multidisciplinaires (photographie, édition, films documentaires et multimédia) nous sera alors proposée.

 

 

Barjac – la démesure Kiefer…

Conçue telle la cité Ninive, ancienne cité perdue de Mésopotamie, Anselm Kiefer prend ses quartiers artistiques en 1993, à Barjac dans une ancienne filature. Cité engloutie de garrigue, composée ou plutôt « décomposée » de tours de béton désarticulées, galeries souterraines, amphithéâtres, bibliothèque et chambres d’oubli pour ses œuvres. C’est le temps de l’art des ruines, que Kiefer conjugue et érige au Présent que nous explorerons. Comme autant d’offrandes au fracas du temps.

Prix par personne

Forfait de base en chambre double : 2 620 €
Supplément chambre individuelle : 230 €
Supplément chambre individuelle de luxe : 360 €
Supplément chambre de luxe à usage double : 70 €

 

Le prix de ce voyage comprend : le vol régulier Paris/Rodez en classe économique et le train TGV Nîmes/Paris en première classe (déductible du forfait) • l’hébergement avec petit-déjeuner pour 2 nuits • la taxe de séjour • les visites et transferts mentionnés au programme • tous les repas (boissons comprises) • les surprises de La Fugue • l’assistance rapatriement.

Séjour accompagné sur place.

Le prix de ce voyage ne comprend pas : les extras

Et aussi...
A l'occasion des 100 ans du Maître
Du 18 au 20 octobre 2019
Responsable de ce voyage

Elisabeth BELLOC

+33 1 43 59 20 32

Contacter par courriel
Retrouvez tous les détails de ce voyage sur votre ordinateur
Responsable de ce voyage

Elisabeth BELLOC

+33 1 43 59 20 32

Contacter par courriel
Itinéraire

Découvrir la carte de ce voyage

Inscriptions

Ouvertes